Public Hearing on the Health & Safety Impacts of Coal Exports in Oakland

Monday  21 September  2015  3:30 PM    Monday  21 September  2015 7:00 PM
Save (146) Saved (147)
Last update 28/09/2015

This is our big chance to convince the City Council NOT to allow coal exports through Oakland! Join us to tell city leaders why letting coal come through our city would be a disaster for the local economy, public health and safety, and climate. Read all about it at

The campaign for a coal free Oakland is supported by the following organizations, businesses, unions, individuals, and elected officials:

350 Bay Area
350 East Bay
AFSCME District Council 57
Alameda County Democratic Party
Alameda County Green Party
Allen Temple Prophetic Justice
Alliance of Californians for Community Empowerment (ACCE)
American Postal Workers Union Local 78
As You Sow
Asian Pacific Environmental Network
Bay Area International Workers of the World (IWW)
Bay Area Refinery Corridor Coalition
Bay Area System Change Not Climate Change
Bay Localize
Benicians for a Safe and Healthy Community
Breakthrough Communities
California Interfaith Power and Light
California Nurses Association
California Student Sustainability Coalition
Center for Biological Diversity
Cheryl Ward Ministries
The Church by the Side of the Road
City Slicker Farm Park Council
Climate Workers
Coalition For Clean Air
Communities for a Better Environment
Community Food and Justice Coalition
CREDO Action
Crockett Rodeo United to Defend the Environment (CRUDE)
First Unitarian Church of Oakland Earth Justice Advocates
East Bay Organizing for Action (OFA)
Edible Parks Oakland Task Force
Food & Water Watch
Greenaction for Health & Environmental Justice
Hoover Resident Action Council
International Longshore & Warehouse Union, Local 34
John George Democratic Club
Kehilla Community Synagogue Greening Committee
League of Conservation Voters, East Bay
Living Love Foundation
Local Clean Energy Alliance
Martinez Environmental Group
Montclair Presbyterian Church Environmental Committee
Movement Generation Justice and Ecology Project
National Nurses United
The Network of Spiritual Progressives
Oak Center Neighborhood Association
Oakland Community Organizations (OCO)
Oakland Education Association
The Oakland Tenants Union
Oakland & The World Enterprises, Inc.
The Oakland Alliance
OccupySF Environmental Justice
Peralta Federation of Teachers
Perspective Design Build
Planting Justice
Prescott Oakland Point Neighborhood Association
Protect Our Winters
Public Advocates Inc.
Ragged Wing Ensemble
Rainforest Action Network
Richmond Progressive Alliance
The Rose Foundation
San Francisco Baykeeper
San Francisco Green Party
SEIU 1021
SEIU USWW (United Service Workers West)
Sierra Club
St. Augustine’s Episcopal Church
St. Patrick’s Parish
Strike Debt Bay Area
Sunflower Alliance
Union of Concerned Scientists
Unitarian Universalist Church of San Francisco
United Auto Workers 2865
Urban Habitat
VAMP Music
Wellstone Democratic Renewal Club
West Oakland Environmental Indicators Project
West Oakland Neighbors

Oakland Businesses:
Alanna Rayford, owner, Urban Stitch Boutique
Allen Michaan, Grand Lake Theatre
Amanda Messbarger, Owner, Knimble
Arizmendi Bakery, Emeryville
Bedrock Sandals
Cafe on 7th
Cafe Talavera
California Golden Bear Realty
Core Foods
Glenn Turner, Owner, Ancient Ways
Grand Bakery
J. Keith Kilgore, Kilgore Inc.
John Bourne, CEO and Co-Founder, BrightCurrent
John Guhl, Owner, The Star on Grand
Karen Graham, Owner, Karen Graham Interiors
Kuhl Frames
Laurel Davis, Owner, Donut Savant
Man Cave America
Michael Kirkman, Train Hole Art Cooperative
Nexus Artisans
Paragon Kitchen and Bath Studio
Park Gas and Food
Sean Asmar, owner and chef, Analog
Solstice Press
Tamales La Oaxaquena
The Flight Deck
Tommy Mierzwinski, Owner, Two Jacks Denim

Elected Officials:
Alejandro Soto-Vigil, Member, Berkeley Rent Stabilization Board
Cy Gulassa, Trustee, Peralta Community College Board
Diana Prola, President, San Leandro School Board*
Dianne Martinez, Councilmember, Emeryville
H.E. Christian (Chris) Peeples, Director, Alameda-Contra Costa Transit District
Jim Prola, Vice Mayor, San Leandro*
Jody London, Oakland Unified School District Board of Education
John Rizzo, Trustee, San Francisco City College
Keith Carson, Supervisor, Alameda County
Laurie Capitelli, Councilmember, Berkeley
Nate Miley, Supervisor, Alameda County
Nicky Gonzalez Yuen, Trustee, Peralta Community College Board
Peter Maass, Mayor, Albany
Ruth Atkin, Mayor, Emeryville
Shanthi Gonzales, Oakland Unified School District Board of Education*
Tom Butt, Mayor, Richmond
Ty Alper, School Board Member, Berkeley
Wilson Riles, former Councilmember, Oakland

Community Leaders:
Reverend Dr. Ambrose F. Carroll Sr. Pastor of The Church by the Side of the Road, Founder of the Green The Church Campaign
Andy Miller, Film Director / Producer, Co-founder of Plus M Productions and Momenta Project
Church Campaign
Pastor Anthony Jenkins, Taylor Memorial United Methodist Church
The Reverend Ben Daniel, Senior Pastor, Montclair Presbyterian Church
Servant Brian K. Woodson, Sr. Pastor
Rabbi Burt Jacobson, Kehilla Community Synagogue
Carl Anthony, Co-Founder, Breakthrough Communities
Cecile Pineda, Author, Theatre Director, and Playwright
Daniel Robertson, President, IAFF Local 55*
Rabbi David J. Cooper, Kehilla Community Synagogue
Rev. Debra Avery, First Presbyterian Church of Oakland*
Diego Gonzalez, AD18 Delegate, CA Democratic Party, Vice Chair, CA Democratic Party Chicano Latino Caucus, Political Director, Latino Young Democrats of the East Bay
Rev. Earl W. Koteen, Environmental Justice Minister,
UU Ministry for Earth
Pastor Laurie Manning, Skyline Community Church
Elaine Brown, CEO, Oakland and The World Enterprises, Inc.
Emily Montan, University of California, Office of the President
Pastor George, St. Patrick’s Parish
Igor Tregub, Commissioner, City of Berkeley Zoning Adjustments Board
Jack Lucero Fleck, John George Democratic Club
Jess Dervin-Ackerman, AD15 Delegate, CA Democratic Party
Pastor Jim Hopkins, Lakeshore Avenue Baptist Church
Karolo Aparicio, Executive Director, EcoViva*
Kathy Neal, AD 15 Vice Chair, Alameda County Democratic Party
The Rev. Dr. Kwasi A. Thornell, St. Augustine's Episcopal Church, Oakland
M. Paloma Pavel, Co-Founder, Breakthrough Communities
Reverend Marilyn Chilcote, Parish Associate, St. John's Presbyterian Church Berkeley, and Pastor, Beacon Presbyterian Fellowship Oakland
Mario Jaurez, AD 18 Vice Chair, Alameda County Democratic Party
Rabbi Michael Lerner, Editor, Tikkun Magazine and Rabbi, Beyt Tikkun Synagogue
Monte McClain, Pastor, College Avenue Presbyterian Church
Natalie Berns, Communications Manager, Oakland Makers
Rafael J. Gonzalez, Poet
Rita Xavier, Assembly District 15 Delegate, CA Democratic Party
Rev. Dr. Robert A. McKenzie, Beacon Presbyterian Fellowship
Russ Flanagan, Board Secretary, Belmont Staten Homeowners Association
Sandhya Jha, Oakland Peace Center*
Sarah Richardson, 18th Assembly District Alternate to the Alameda County Democratic Central Committee, Founder/Former President, East Bay Black Young Democrats
Steve Ongerth, Co-founder, IWW Environmental Unionism
Thomas Bowden, West Oakland Blues Musician
Vincent Casalaina, Northern Vice Chair, Progressive Caucus, CA Democratic Party
Reverend Will McGarvey, Interfaith Council of Contra Costa County
The Rev. Will Scott, Interfaith Power and Light

*Titles for identification purposes only

music art cinema food blues party
Nearby hotels and apartments
Oakland City Hall
1 Frank H Ogawa Plz, Oakland, CA, United States